Riot Games announced the locations, venues and dates of the League of Legends World Championship Thursday morning, with Berlin, Madrid and Paris making the cut.

Starting Oct. 2 and running until Nov. 10, 24 teams from 13 regional leagues will compete. The play-in stage will be held from Oct. 2-5 and Oct. 7-8 at the LEC Studio in Berlin.

Editor’s Picks

  • LEC power rankings through summer split Week 2

  • Fortnite Pro-Am brings ‘Showtime’ back to The Forum

  • Misfits Gaming’s 10-man roster gambit has worldly aspirations

2 Related

These 12 teams will compete for four spots in the group stage:

  • CBLOL (Brazil) Team

  • LCL (Russia) Team

  • Third-seeded LCK (South Korea) Team

  • Third-seeded LCS (North America) Team

  • Third-seeded LEC (Europe) Team

  • LJL (Japan) Team

  • LLA (Latin America) Team

  • Third-seeded LMS (Chinese Taipei) Team

  • OPL (Australia) Team

  • LST (Southeast Asia) Team

  • TCL (Turkey) Team

  • Second-seeded VCS (Vietnam) Team

Next, the group stage will continue in Berlin at the Verti Music Hall from Oct. 12-15 and Oct. 17-20.

The following 12 teams will automatically qualify for the group stage:

  • First-seeded LCK (South Korea) Team

  • Second-seeded LCK (South Korea) Team

  • First-seeded LCS (North America) Team

  • Second-seeded LCS (North America) Team

  • First-seeded LEC (Europe) Team

  • Second-seeded LEC (Europe) Team

  • First-seeded LMS (Chinese Taipei) Team

  • Second-seeded LMS (Chinese Taipei) Team

  • First-seeded LPL (China) Team

  • Second-seeded LPL (China) Team

  • Third-seeded LPL (China) Team

  • First-seeded VCS (Vietnam) Team

Eight teams from the group stage will qualify for the quarterfinals (Oct. 26-27) for a chance to get to the semifinals (Nov. 2-3). Both the quarterfinals and semifinals will take place at the Palacio Vistalegre in Madrid.

The finals will take place in Paris at the AccorHotels Arena on Nov. 10.

The World Championship will take place in China in 2020 and North America in 2021.

–Field Level Media